Thomas Strønen | Time Is A Blind Guide

Thomas Strønen’s Time Is A Blind Guide is a true chamber music ensemble with a strong group sound performing compelling compositions. It draws lines from traditional folk music to contemporary music, performed by some of Europe finest jazz musicians.  The quintet combines three elements important to Strønens writing; A string trio, a piano trio and sometimes a percussion ensemble. TIAbG fulfill the delicate balance between challenging and captivating the audience with textures, sounds and beautiful melodies.


Thomas Strønen is one of Europe's most prolific drummers, sampling percussionists and composers.  Strønen has contributed to more than seventy releases, toured more than sixty countries and has been commissioned to compose music for BBC, NRK and The Norwegian Opera and Ballet.  


He is signed to ECM Records and has been leading and composing for his own ensembles for twenty years, collaborating with musicians including John Taylor, Nils Petter Molvær, Koichi Makigami, Bobo Stenson, Jim O’Rourke, Tomasz Stanko, Sidsel Endresen and Christian Fennesz.


Time Is A Blind Guide: 


Thomas Strønen – drums/ compositions 

Ayumi Tanaka – piano

Håkon Aase – violin

Leo Svensson Sander – cello 

Ole Morten Vågan – bass  


Photo: André Løyning.